News & Events
Honors & Awards

Northwestern Computer Science faculty and students are recognized for their accomplishments in research, teaching, and more. Read below for a sampling of recent accomplishments and honors received by faculty and students.

Northwestern CS also gives internal department awards to faculty, students, and staff who have shown excellence and service within the department. View Department Awards.

Jump to a Section

2021 Awards and Accomplishments

Faculty Awards

  • Ken Forbus was named to the 2020 class of AAAS fellows.
  • Zhaoran Wang received a prestigious NSF CAREER award.
  • Eleanor O’Rourke received a $10,000 Google Systems Research Award in recognition of her work related to technical leadership and achievements in systems research. The award was given to seven female assistant professors conducting systems research.
  • Josiah Hester won a 3M Non-Tenured Track Faculty Award, which recognizes junior faculty for excellence in research, exeperience, and academic leadership.

Student/alumni Awards

2020 Awards and Accomplishments

Faculty Awards


Teaching and Mentoring

Joint Faculty and Student Awards

Student Awards