Undergraduate Study
Undergraduate Awards

Recent Achievements and Awards

  • Daniel Cornew (ME '11) created Titan Aerospace, a company developing solar-powered drones. Titan Aerospace was acquired by Google in April 2014.
  • Yuri Malina and Mert Iseri developed SwipeSense, a company that developed a data-driven hand hygiene system to reduce hospital infections. It was selected as one of three finalists in the Wall Street Journal’s Startup of the Year competition. SwipeSense grew out of Design for America and is led by former students.
  • Hannah Chung (ME ’12) won the pitch competition at Fortune’s Most Powerful Women Summit for Sproutel, a company developing interactive educational games for children with chronic illnesses. Sproutel was founded by Chung and classmate Aaron Horowitz based on their Northwestern design work.

Mechanical Engineering Department Awards to Graduating Seniors

2013 Recipients

  • Matthew Filak - Leadership and Service
  • Elliot James Hevel - Academic Achievement
  • Mark Fischer - Research and Innovation

Learn more about Mark's high-altitude solar-cell experiment

2012 Recipients

  • Karina Vargas - Leadership and Service
  • Yoke Peng Leong - Academic Achievement
  • David Yuan Ma - Research and Innovation

2011 Recipients

  • Gracie Whittman - Leadership and Service
  • Mitchell Lee - Academic Achievement
  • Sean Wood - Research and Innovation
  • Andrea Fraga, Gracie Whitmann & Ben Kolandar - Best Picture(s) Award

2010 Recipients

  • Suelyn Yu - Leadership and Service
  • Philip Dames - Academic Achievement
  • Kristian Zimowski - Research and Innovation

2009 Recipients

  • David Evitt - Leadership and Service
  • Andrew Long - Academic Achievement
  • Matthew Turpin - Research and Innovation

2008 Recipients

  • Mitchell Samson - Leadership and Service
  • Matthew Inkman - Academic Achievement
  • Ibrahim Alali - Research and Innovation

2007 Recipients

  • Lucas M. Rogers - Leadership and Service
  • Cody A. Hellstern - Academic Achievement
  • Jeffrey P. Mills - Research and Innovation

2006 Recipients

  • Anita Budhraja - Leadership and Service
  • Nikolaus Ehrensberger - Academic Achievement
  • Benjamin Stephens - Research and Innovation