Graduate Study
Student Awards

Recent Achievements and Awards

  • Tiffany Ling and Pinzhi Liu received the Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers Surface Engineering Best Paper Award.
  • Yan Man, the co-founder of MeterGenius, won the $10,000 Illinois Clean Energy Student Challenge and the $25,000 McCaffrey Interest Prize at the Midwest Regional Clean Energy Challenge. The company recently received a $50,000 Arch Grant and moved to St. Louis.
  • Matt Ford, Newell Moser, and Katie Fitzsimons received NSF Graduate Research Fellowships.
  • Joseph Schaefer received the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Graduate Teaching Fellowship.
  • Hongyi Xu received the ASME Design Automation Conference Best Paper Award.
  • Ying Li received the Outstanding Researcher Award from the International Institute for Nanotechnology.

ME Department Graduate Leadership and Service Award

  • 2020 Recipient: Marisa Bisram, Lin Liu & Sylvia Tan
  • 2019 Recipient: Milli Schlafly & Annalisa Taylor
  • 2018 Recipient: Puikei Cheng
  • 2017 Recipient: Chaitanya Gokhale & Aleksandra Kalinowska
  • 2016 Recipient: Zack Woodruff & Ian Abraham
  • 2015 Recipient: Giorgos Mamakoukas & Katie Anne Fitzsimons
  • 2014 Recipient: Bobby Sinko
  • 2013 Recipient: James K. Magargee
  • 2012 Recipients: Lauren Miller and Michael Roenbeck
  • 2011 Recipient: Aaron Stebner
  • 2010 Recipient: Yan Zhu
  • 2009 Recipient: Robert Lam
  • 2008 Recipient: Tiffany Davis
  • 2007 Recipient: Laura E. Winfield