Learn more about the Department of Materials Science and Engineering's alumni activities.


Jump to a Section

Alumni Awards

MSE Awards Banquet

The MSE Awards Banquet at the Hilton Orrington Hotel celebrates accomplishments by faculty, students, and alumni. For inquiries about past and future events, please contact Kristina Lugo

View photos from the past alumni celebrations on Flickr:

For highlights from the MSE Department 60th Reunion in 2018, please click here.

Award Recipients

Each year the Department of Materials Science and Engineering recognizes outstanding alumni at the MSE Awards Banquet in May.  Past recipients of the Early Career Achievement Award (within 15 years of NU degree) and the Distinguished Career Achievement Award are found here. See below for the most recent awardees:

May 2020

Distinguished Career Achievement Award 
Professor Masahiro (Mike) Meshii (PhD Kaufmann, 1959). In his long tenure as a faculty member, Professor Meshii helped to establish the materials science and engineering department at Northwestern as a pioneer in the field. He is recognized for his significant contributions to the field using electron microscopy in the areas of amorphization, galvanization, solid-solution softening and fatigue. 

Early Career Achievement Award
Dr. Bryce Meredig (PhD 2013, Wolverton) is the Chief Science Officer and Co-Founder of Citrine Informatics.  He is recognized for his role in founding the highly successful materials informatics company, Citrine Informatics, and for pioneering work in developing methods to utilize artificial intelligence in materials design and discovery.

Back to Top


Back to Top

Social Media

Stay connected with the Department of Materials Science and Engineering on our social media platforms!  

If you would like to share content suggestions for the department's social media, please submit this form.

Back to Top