Undergraduate Study
Student Awards
Hilliard Awards for Seniors

In 2007, the department created awards in honor of Professor John Hilliard that recognize outstanding achievements by our undergraduate students.

These awards are presented to graduating seniors in two categories: 

  • Undergraduate Research and Design
  • Leadership, Scholarship and Service


Undergraduate Research and Design

Leah Borgsmiller, “Estimation of Fracture Toughness from Quantum Mechanical Ideal Strength Calculations”  Advisors: Professor Jeff Snyder / Dr. Matthias Agne

Leah will enter the Ph.D. program in Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern in fall 2020.

Undergraduate Leadership, Scholarship and Service

William Jeang: As President and Outreach Coordinator of the MatSci Club, William has been active in K-12 outreach and peer mentoring, developing demonstrations and working to increase awareness of materials science and foster a sense of community.  He has been a member of the Rogers group for his entire Northwestern career, and plans to pursue a PhD in polymers and soft matter at MIT.    


Undergraduate Research and Design

Daniel Ng, “ Effect of Rafting on Tensile Creep of Single Crystal Cobalt-based Superalloy” Faculty Advisor: David Dunand

Daniel will enter the PhD program at MIT in fall 2019, where he plans to pursue research with the Schuh group. 

Undergraduate Leadership, Scholarship and Service

Yvonne Chart: A member of the Varsity Fencing team, Yvonne served the materials community as President and Treasurer of the Material Advantage chapter, helping to establish the MatSci mentorship program.  Her interest in energy and sustainability manifested as President of the Athletics Sustanability Committee, as an undergraduate researcher in the Barnett group, and an intern at Nanograf.  Her immediate post-graduation plans include training for the 2020 Olympics.

Past Awardees