See all NewsEngineering News
Honors and Awards

Michael Jewett Recognized as Exceptional Young Researcher

Jewett is one of three Northwestern University faculty members who are finalists for Blavatnik National Awards

Three Northwestern University faculty members, including Northwestern Engineering's Michael Jewett, along with Judd A. and Marjorie Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences Professors William Dichtel and Emily Weiss, have been named finalists for the 2019 Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists. They are among 31 scientists and engineers being recognized nationally this year.

The finalists are considered to be some of America’s most important young scientific researchers aged 42 years or younger, driving the next generation of innovation by addressing today’s most complex and intriguing scientific questions. They now will compete for the largest unrestricted awards of their kind for early career scientists and engineers.

There are 10 finalists in each of three categories: life sciences, chemistry, and physical sciences and engineering. The 2019 Blavatnik National Laureates, one from each category, will be announced on June 26. Each laureate will receive a cash prize of $250,000.

Michael JewettThe annual Blavatnik Awards were established in 2007 by the Blavatnik Family Foundation and are administered by the New York Academy of Sciences.

Jewett, the Charles Deering McCormick Professor of Teaching Excellence, a professor of chemical and biological engineering in the McCormick School of Engineering, and co-director of Northwestern’s Center for Synthetic Biology, is a finalist in life sciences. His work focuses bio-manufacturing therapeutics, materials, and chemicals. Jewett invented cell-free techniques that harness biological systems without intact cells, creating new routes toward on-demand synthesis of medicines, expanding the chemistry of life, portable molecular diagnostics, and education kits.

Jewett is a member of the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center at Northwestern University, Simpson Querrey Institute, the Chemistry of Life Processes Institute, and the International Institute of Nanotechnology.