See all NewsEngineering News
Honors and Awards

Ameer Wins 2022 Innovation Commercialization Award

The award recognizes the application of tissue engineering and regenerative medicine that benefits patients

Northwestern Engineering’s Guillermo A. Ameer was honored with the 2022 Innovation/Commercialization Award by the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society-Americas (TERMIS-AM). 

Guillermo A. Ameer

The award recognizes the application of tissue engineering and regenerative medicine in the production of a product or technology that ultimately will benefit patients. The award can be presented for an existing product or for a newly developed product that has been launched in the last five years, or for a technology launched in the last five years that can facilitate commercialization of a product.

Ameer, who received the award at the TERMIS-AM annual meeting in Toronto, is the Daniel Hale Williams Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the McCormick School of Engineering and professor of surgery at the Feinberg School of Medicine. He is a leader in regenerative engineering, biomaterials, additive manufacturing for biomedical devices, controlled drug delivery, and bio/nanotechnology for therapeutics and diagnostics.

Ameer’s laboratory has pioneered the development of tissue regeneration applications of citrate-based biomaterials, the core technology behind the innovative bioresorbable orthopedic tissue fixation devices CITREFIXTM, CITRESPLINETM, and CITRELOCKTM, which were recently cleared by the FDA for clinical use and marketed worldwide by Stryker Corporation.

Ameer also directs Northwestern’s Center for Advanced Regenerative Engineering (CARE), an interdisciplinary research center that integrates and supports research, technology development, and clinical expertise to improve the outcome of tissue and organ repair and regeneration for adult and pediatric patients.

Ameer’s other recent honors include the 2022 Bioactive Materials Lifetime Achievement Award from the Bioactive Materials academic journal, election to the National Academy of Medicine, and being named Fellow of the Materials Research Society. He also received the Technology Innovation and Development Award from the Society for Biomaterials, the Global Biomaterials Leadership Award from the Chinese Association for Biomaterials, was inducted into the University of Texas McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering Academy of Distinguished Chemical Engineers, and received the Society for Biomaterials Clemson Award for Contributions to the Literature.