See all NewsEngineering News
Honors and Awards

Linda Broadbelt Awarded Ver Steeg Fellowship

Award recognizes Broadbelt for her strong research and leadership

Linda J. Broadbelt, the Sarah Rebecca Roland Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Northwestern University’s McCormick School of Engineering, has been named the 12th recipient of the Dorothy Ann and Clarence L. Ver Steeg Distinguished Research Fellowship Award.

The Ver Steeg Fellowship supports research and scholarship by a tenured Northwestern professor whose work enhances the national and international reputation of the University. It carries an award of $40,000.

Linda BroadbeltBroadbelt also is chair of McCormick’s department of chemical and biological engineering. Her research and teaching interests are in the areas of multiscale modeling, complex kinetics modeling, environmental catalysis, novel biochemical pathways, and polymerization/depolymerization kinetics.

“Linda is not only a highly accomplished researcher, teacher and student advisor, but she also is an exemplary leader for Northwestern,” said Provost Daniel Linzer, whose office bestows the honor annually. “During the past seven years as department chair, she has grown the department in both performance and stature, and it now is recognized as a top program for synthetic biology faculty, students and research.”

Broadbelt is a member of the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), the American Chemical Society, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

“Linda epitomizes our next generation of senior leaders in science, education and management,” McCormick Dean Julio M. Ottino said. “She is a strong voice for women in science, bringing recognition and pride to McCormick and Northwestern."

Broadbelt’s list of honors includes the AIChE Women’s Initiative Committee Mentorship Excellence Award, the Fulbright Distinguished Scholar Award and the National Science Foundation’s CAREER Award.

She serves on numerous AIChE committees, including the executive board of the National Program Committee. She served on the Defense Science Study Group of the Institute for Defense Analyses and on the Scientific Organizing Committee for the 19th and the 21st International Symposium on Chemical Reaction Engineering.

Broadbelt is currently an associate editor of Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research. She has served on the editorial boards of Chemical Engineering Journal and International Journal of Chemical Kinetics, among others.

The Ver Steeg fellowship was established and endowed by the late Clarence L. Ver Steeg and his wife, Dorothy. Clarence Ver Steeg was a faculty member in the department of history from 1950 to 1992 and served as dean of The Graduate School from 1975 to 1986.

Administered by the Office of the Provost, the fellowship is the first endowed award for excellence in research by a faculty member. A complete list of recipients can be found on the Office of the Provost website.