See all NewsEngineering News
Honors and Awards

Chad Mirkin To Receive Linus Pauling Medal Award

Expert in nanotechnology recognized for his outstanding achievement in chemistry

Northwestern University scientist Chad A. Mirkin has been selected to receive the 2013 Linus Pauling Medal Award from the Oregon, Portland and Puget Sound local sections of the American Chemical Society.

Chad MirkinMirkin, a world-renowned leader in nanotechnology research and its application, is being recognized for his outstanding contributions to chemistry that have merited national and international recognition, including the invention and development of spherical nucleic acids (SNAs), Dip-Pen Nanolithography and the Weak-Link Approach to supramolecular coordination chemistry.

The medal will be presented to Mirkin at a symposium this fall in Portland.

The award is named after chemist Linus Pauling, a native of the Pacific Northwest, to whom it was first awarded in 1966. Approximately half of the Pauling Medal recipients have gone on to win the Nobel Prize.  

Mirkin is the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences and professor of medicine, chemical and biological engineering, biomedical engineering and materials science and engineering. He is director of Northwestern’s International Institute for Nanotechnology.

Three other Northwestern faculty members have received the Linus Pauling Medal Award: Tobin Marks in 2001, James Ibers in 1994 and the late John Pople in 1977.