Faculty Directory
Chad Mirkin

George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry, Materials Science and Engineering, and (by courtesy) Chemical and Biological Engineering and Biomedical Engineering


2190 Campus Drive
Ryan Hall, Room 3010
Evanston, IL 60208

847-467-7302Email Chad Mirkin


Mirkin Research Group


Materials Science and Engineering

Chemical and Biological Engineering

Biomedical Engineering


PhD Program in Interdisciplinary Biological Sciences


NSF Postdoctoral Fellow in Chemistry, MIT, Cambridge, MA

Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, Penn State, State College, PA

B.S. Chemistry (Phi Beta Kappa), Dickinson College, Carlisle, PA

Research Interests

Fundamental and applied nanoscience, nanomaterials, nanibiotechnology, nanomedicine, nanolithography

Our research focuses on developing methods for controlling the architecture of molecules and materials on the 1-100 nm length scale, and utilizing such structures in the development of analytical tools that can be used in the areas of chemical and biological sensing, lithography, catalysis, and optics.

Mirkin has pioneered the use of biomolecules as synthons in materials science and the development of nanoparticle-based biodiagnostics. Many of the concepts and materials developed within his laboratories are now the basis for commercial detection and lithography systems.

Significant Recognition

  • 2018 Remsen Award
  • 2018 Ralph N. Adams Award in Bioanalytical Chemistry
  • 2017 Fellow, American Chemical Society
  • 2017 Wilhelm Exner Medal
  • 2017 Dickson Prize in Science
  • 2017 William H. Nichols Medal
  • 2016 Dan David Prize
  • 2016 American Institute of Chemists Gold Medal
  • 2015 Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering
  • 2015 Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in Convergence Research
  • 2015 Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Centenary Prize
  • 2013 Fellow, National Academy of Inventors
  • 2013 Linus Pauling Medal
  • 2013 Walston Chubb Award for Innovation
  • 2012 American Chemical Society Award for Creative Invention
  • 2011 Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 2010 Fellow, National Academy of Medicine
  • 2010 Fellow, National Academy of Sciences
  • 2009 $500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize
  • 2009 Member, President’s Council of Advisors on Science & Technology (PCAST, Obama Administration)
  • 2009 Fellow, National Academy of Engineering

Significant Professional Service

  • National Academy of Engineering
  • Editorial Advisory Board of Accounts of Chemical Research
  • Editorial Advisory Board, Advanced Materials
  • Editorial Advisory Board, Chemical and Engineering News
  • Editorial Advisory Board, BioMacromolecules
  • Editorial Advisory Board, Macromolecular Bioscience
  • Editorial Advisory Board, SENSORS
  • Editorial Advisory Board, Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
  • Editorial Advisory Board, Chemistry-A European Journal
  • Editorial Advisory Board, Macro-Journals of Macromolecule
  • Editorial Advisory Board, Chemistry & Biology
  • Editorial Advisory Board, Nanotechnology Law & Business
  • Editorial Advisory Board, Journal of Materials Chemistry
  • Editorial Advisory Board, Journal of Cluster Science
  • Founding editor of the journal Small
  • Science Advisory Board member for the International Society for Nanoscale Science, Computation and Engineering

Selected Publications

  • Jun Yue, Roger M. Pallares, Lisa E. Cole, Emma E. Coughlin, Chad A Mirkin, Andrew Lee, Teri W Odom, “Smaller CpG-Conjugated Gold Nanoconstructs Achieve Higher Targeting Specificity of Immune Activation”, ACS applied materials & interfaces, (2018)
  • Kurinji Krishnamoorthy, Kyle Hoffmann, Sumit Kewalramani, Jeffrey D. Brodin, Liane M. Moreau, Chad A Mirkin, M Olvera de la Cruz, Michael J Bedzyk, “Defining the Structure of a Protein-Spherical Nucleic Acid Conjugate and Its Counterionic Cloud”, ACS Central Science, (2018)
  • Michael J. Ashley, Edward J. Kluender, Chad A Mirkin, “Fast Charge Extraction in Perovskite-Based Core-Shell Nanowires”, ACS Nano, (2018)
  • Lin Sun, Haixin Lin, George C Schatz, Chad A Mirkin, “Design principles for nanoparticle based photonic crystals”, Active Photonic Platforms X, (2018)
  • Shengshuang Zhu, Hang Xing, Pavlo Gordiichuk, Jungsoo Park, Chad A Mirkin, “PLGA Spherical Nucleic Acids”, Advanced Materials, (2018)
  • Taegon Oh, Sarah S. Park, Chad A Mirkin, “Stabilization of Colloidal Crystals Engineered with DNA”, Advanced Materials, (2018)
  • Jingshan S. Du, Peng Cheng Chen, Brian Meckes, Zhuang Xie, Jinghan Zhu, Yuan Liu, Vinayak P Dravid, Chad A Mirkin, “Corrigendum to”, Angewandte Chemie - International Edition, (2018)
  • Yuan Liu, Jiawang Zhou, Michael R Wasielewski, Hang Xing, Chad A Mirkin, “A four-state fluorescent molecular switch”, Chemical Communications, (2018)