Faculty Directory
Samuel Stupp

Board of Trustees Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Chemistry, Medicine and Biomedical Engineering and (by courtesy) Biomedical Engineering

Director, Simpson Querrey Institute

Director, Center for Bio-Inspired Energy Science


2220 Campus Drive
Cook Hall 2036; Office - Cook 1127
Evanston, IL 60208

Email Samuel Stupp


The Stupp Laboratory


Simpson Querrey Institute

Center for Bio-Inspired Energy Science


Materials Science and Engineering

Biomedical Engineering


Ph.D. Materials Science and Engineering, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

B.S. Chemistry, University of California at Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA

Significant Recognition

  • Member, National Academy of Sciences (2020)
  • Nanoscience Prize, International Society for Nanoscale Science, Computation, and Engineering (2020)
  • Listed in Top 1% Highly Cited Researchers, Web of Science Group (2019)
  • Fellow, National Academy of Inventors (2018)
  • Most Cited Researchers in Materials Science & Engineering, Elsevier Scopus Data (2016)
  • Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry (2016)
  • Royal Society of Chemistry Soft Matter and Biophysical Chemistry Award (2016)
  • Elected to American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows (2016)
  • Member, Royal Spanish Academy of Engineering (2015)
  • Visiting Professor, School of Materials Science and Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (2015)
  • Thomson Reuters The World's Most Influential Scientific Minds (2014)
  • International Award, The Society of Polymer Science, Japan (2014)
  • President, International Scientific Committee of the Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia, Spain (2014)
  • Distinguished Visiting Scientist of the Institute of Materials Research and Engineering, Singapore (2014)
  • Distinguished Visiting Professor of Biochemistry, University of Hong Kong (2014)
  • Creation of the Samuel I. Stupp Prize in Nanotechnology by the Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of Costa Rica (2013)
  • Honorary Doctorate from the University of Gothenburg, Sweden Medical School (2013)
  • Australian Centre for Nanomedicine Annual Visiting Professorship (2013)
  • American Chemical Society Ronald Breslow Award for Achievement in Biomimetic Chemistry (2012)
  • Member, National Academy of Engineering (2012)
  • Member, Royal Spanish Academy of Pharmacy (2012)
  • Honorary Doctorate, National University of Costa Rica (2011)
  • Thomson Reuters Top 100 Chemists for 2000-2010 (2011)
  • Fellow, Materials Research Society (2009)
  • Distinguished Professorship, Eindhoven University of Technology (2009)
  • Israel Pollack Distinguished Lecture Series Award, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology (2009)
  • Honorary Doctorate for Revolutionary Research in Complex Molecular Systems, Eindhoven University of Technology (2009)
  • American Chemical Society Award in Polymer Chemistry (2005)
  • Fellow, World Technology Network (2003)
  • Materials Research Society Medal Award (2000)
  • Humboldt Award for Senior U.S. Scientists (1997)
  • Joliot Curie Professorship, Ecole Supérieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles (1997)
  • U.S. Department of Energy Prize for Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Materials Chemistry (1991)
  • Xerox Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Research (1985)
  • 3M Young Faculty Award (1981)
  • 3M Young Faculty Award (1981)
  • 3M Young Faculty Award (1981)

Significant Professional Service

  • Member, Executive Advisory Board, Giant (2020)
  • Member, External Executive Committee (EEC) of CUNY Advanced Science Research Center (ASRC) Nanoscience Initiative, New York, NY (2016)
  • Member, Advisory Board, Indian Association of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (IANN), India (2016)
  • Organizer and Co-Chair of the Inter-Agency Materials Genome Initiative Soft Matter Summit, Washington DC (2013)
  • Member, RIKEN Center for Emergent Matter Science Advisory Council, Japan (2013)
  • Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Xeltis Corporation, Zurich, Switzerland (2013)
  • Co-Chair, Gordon Research Conference on Self-Assembly & Supramolecular Chemistry in Les Diablerets, Switzerland (2013)
  • Honorary Membership, Israel Chemical Society (2009)
  • Member, World Premier International Program Advisory Committee to Advanced Institute for Materials Research, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, Japan (2008)
  • International Advisory Group, Swedish Government Program on Biomaterials, Gothenburg University (2008)
  • Member, Scientific Advisory Board, University of Vienna (2006)
  • Merck-Karl Pfister Visiting Professorship, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2004)
  • Member, Scientific Advisory Board, National University of Singapore (2003)
  • Member, Baxter Scientific Advisory Board (2001)
  • Member, Solid State Sciences Committee, National Academy of Sciences (2001)
  • Member, Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee, Department of Energy (1999)
  • Elected member of American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1998)
  • Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science (1999)
  • Member, Materials Panel, Air Force Scientific Advisory Board (1995)
  • Exclusive consultant to 3M Company (1987)