See all NewsEngineering News

Northwestern Receives $2.36 Million from Dow Chemical for Sponsored Research

Northwestern University will receive $2.36 million from the Dow Chemical Company for sponsored research in 2012.

Northwestern is one of 11 academic institutions to share in Dow’s $25 million per year commitment for 10 years. The institutions were chosen for “their excellence in science and engineering education, research and willingness to collaborate with industry.”

The funding will be used to strengthen research in traditional scientific fields important to the nation’s future.

The Dow supported research at Northwestern includes the following projects:

• Fundamentals of Particle Systems, led by Richard Lueptow, professor of mechanical engineering and senior associate dean for operations and research in the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science

• Process Optimization for Specialty Chemicals, led by Fengqi You, assistant professor of chemical and biological engineering in McCormick

• Fundamentals of Process Modeling, led by Linda Broadbelt, Sarah Rebecca Roland Professor and chair, department of chemical and biological engineering in McCormick

• Electrochemistry and Materials for Energy Storage, projects led Chris Wolverton, professor of material sciences and engineering in McCormick, and SonBinh Nguyen, McCormick Professor of Teaching Excellence, department of chemistry, and director of the Integrated Science Program

• Novel Monomers for the Chemical Industry, projects led by Justin Notestein, assistant professor of chemical and biological engineering in McCormick, and John Torkelson, Walter P. Murphy Professor of chemical and biological engineering and materials science in McCormick

 “Excellence in scientific education and the development of innovative solutions go hand-in-hand,” said Andrew N. Liveris, Dow’s chairman and chief executive officer. “We are pleased to partner with academia to ensure that a vital pipeline of talent and research is available to fuel the discoveries and solutions of tomorrow.”

Other universities that will receive the Dow funding include: California Institute of Technology; University of California at Santa Barbara; University of Minnesota; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Georgia Institute of Technology; Pennsylvania State University; University of Wisconsin; University of California at Berkeley; Carnegie Mellon University and University of Michigan.

-- University Relations