See all NewsEngineering News

Two McCormick Professors Chosen to Serve on Edison Awards Steering Committee

Two McCormick professors have been chosen to serve on the steering committee of the Edison Awards, which recognize and honor innovation and excellence in the development, marketing, and launch of new products and services.

Walter Herbst, director of the Master of Product Design and Development Management program and clinical professor of mechanical engineering, and Greg Holderfield, Segal Design Institute fellow, codirector of the Master of Product Design and Development Management program and codirector of the MMM program, both serve on the committee, which monitors the development and successful launch of innovative products each year and selects the Edison Achievement Award winners. That award recognizes distinguished business executives who have made a significant and lasting contribution to innovation, marketing, and human-centered design throughout their careers.

Originally established in 1987 by the American Marketing Association, but an independent organization since 2008, the Edison Best New Product Awards ™ have honored some of the most innovative products and business leaders in America. The organization also gives out the Edison Green Award, which recognizes an organization’s commitment to developing sustainable solutions and Green business models.  The Edison Awards are named after Thomas Alva Edison (1847-1931) whose extraordinary new product development methods garnered him 1,093 U.S. patents and made him a household name across the world.