See all NewsEngineering News

Leon Keer Awarded Mindlin Medal

Leon Keer, Walter P. Murphy Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Mechanical Engineering, received the 2011 Raymond D. Mindlin Medal from the American Society of Civil Engineers.

The award recognizes outstanding research contributions to applied solid mechanics. The medal is named for Raymond D. Mindlin, who was a professor at Columbia University and who is best known for pioneering contributions to applied mechanics. Keer received the award during the EMI Conference in Boston earlier this month.

The first winner of the award was Jan Achenbach, Walter P. Murphy and Distinguished McCormick School Professor Emeritus of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Engineering Sciences and Applied Mathematics, and Mechanical Engineering. He received the award in 2009.