See all NewsEngineering News

Frey Prize Winners Announced

The 2010 Margaret and Muir Frey Memorial Prize for Innovation and Creativity for the best innovative or creative-integrative ‘Capstone’ project was awarded at the McCormick undergraduate convocation on June 19.

Winners include:

First prize: Automatic Meat Casting Remover
Students: Noah Pentelovitch, George Randolph, Sean Wood,  Krystian Zimowski
Faculty adviser: Wei Chen

Second prize: Applying Transformation-Induced Plasticity to Titanium Alloys
Students: Pitichon Klomjit, Kelsey Stoerzinger, Wenhao Sun, Frank Lin, Allison Weil, Tian Zhou
Faculty adviser: Gregory Olson

Third prize: Design and Optimization of a Blast Resistant Steel Alloy
Student: Matthew Draper
Faculty adviser: Gregory Olson

The prize was established in fall 2001 by Donald N. Frey, professor of industrial engineering and management sciences at McCormick, in memory of his late parents. The first annual prize was awarded in spring 2002. Frey passed away in March at the age of 86.