See all NewsEngineering News
Honors and Awards

Julio M. Ottino Selected for 2023 G.I. Taylor Medal

Ottino was chosen for “pioneering theoretical and experimental contributions to the fluid mechanics of mixing”

Northwestern Engineering’s Julio M. Ottino has been selected as the 2023 G.I. Taylor Medal recipient by the Society of Engineering Science (SES). 

Julio M. Ottino

Ottino, dean of the McCormick School of Engineering, Distinguished Robert R. McCormick Institute Professor, and Walter P. Murphy Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, was recognized “for pioneering theoretical and experimental contributions to the fluid mechanics of mixing.” He will be formally recognized during the SES 2023 Annual Meeting in October in Minneapolis. A symposium is organized for the recipient of this honor.

The SES is an organization of leading engineers, scientists, and mathematicians from around the world that focuses on the interface between engineering, sciences, and mathematics.

An internationally recognized researcher in fluid dynamics, Dr. Ottino’s research in fluid and granular dynamics has impacted a wide range of fields from geophysical sciences, material processing and microfluidics, to nonlinear dynamics and complex systems. He has been recognized with numerous national and international awards. He is member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. A former Guggenheim Fellow, he was named by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers as one of the “One Hundred Engineers of the Modern Era” and was previously the recipient of the American Physical Society’s Fluid Dynamics Prize. Author of the groundbreaking “The Kinematics of Mixing,” Ottino published two additional books during his tenure as dean, The Mathematical Foundations of Mixing, with Rob Sturman and Steve Wiggins and, most recently, The Nexus: Augmented Thinking for a Complex World, The New Convergence of Art, Technology, and Science (MIT Press, 2022), with collaborator Bruce Mau.

Sir Geoffrey Ingram Taylor was a British physicist and mathematician, and a major figure in fluid dynamics in the 20th century. The past recipients of the award include major figures in the field, including Sir James Lighthill, Andreas Acrivos, George K. Batchelor, Grigory I. Barenblatt, and Steve Davis.