See all NewsEngineering News
Honors and Awards

Grayson Wins New Faculty Service Award

The Provost Award for Exemplary Faculty Service recognizes impact throughout the University

Northwestern Engineering’s Matthew Grayson has been named an inaugural winner of Northwestern University’s new Provost Award for Exemplary Faculty Service.

Grayson, who shares the award with Babette Sanders, professor of physical therapy and movement sciences at Feinberg School of Medicine, was selected for his many years of outstanding service in his department and his impact throughout the University.

Matthew GraysonThe award, presented by the Office of the Provost, was created to recognize faculty members who have gone above and beyond in service and have significantly enhanced the quality of Northwestern as an educational institution and community of scholars.

“I am very pleased to name professors Grayson and Sanders as the inaugural recipients of this award,” Provost Jonathan Holloway said. “Through their service, which encompasses entrepreneurship, mentorship, and leadership, these individuals have had a lasting impact in their departments and across the University. I look forward to continuing this award in coming years and honoring the service contributions of other faculty throughout Northwestern.”

Grayson is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the McCormick School of Engineering. He is being recognized for the creation of programs including ETOPiA, a science-based theater outreach that has led to theatrical productions that attract more than 700 annual patrons, as well as the Global Engineering Treks, which allow freshman engineers to conduct 10 days of technological site visits to Germany and Israel.

"Just as our undergraduates are encouraged to develop their diverse talents, it is humbling to know that faculty, too, can be recognized for going beyond curricular and research obligations to undertake unconventional creative endeavors within the university community,” Grayson said.

Grayson will receive his award at a ceremony held by the Office of the Provost on April 29.