Faculty Directory
Tobin J. Marks

Vladimir N. Ipatieff Professor of Catalytic Chemistry and Chemical and Biological Engineering and (by courtesy) Materials Science and Engineering


2220 Campus Drive
Cook Hall 2036
Evanston, IL 60208

Email Tobin Marks


Materials Science and Engineering

Significant Recognition

  • 2017 Priestlel Medal from American Chemical Society
  • Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 2008 Honorary Fellow of the Chemical Research Society of India
  • 2005 United States Medal of Science
  • 2003 Frankland Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK)
  • 2003 Karl Ziegler Medal of the German Chemical Society
  • 2003 Evans Medal of the Ohio State University
  • 2002 American Institute of Chemists Gold Medal
  • 2001 American Chemical Society Award in the Chemistry of Materials
  • 2001 Linus Pauling Medal, Oregon-Washington ACS Sections
  • 2001 Burwell Award, North American Catalysis Society
  • 2001 Williard Gibbs Medal, ACS Chicago Section
  • 2000 Cotton Medal, ACS Texas A&M Section
  • 1999 Paolo Chini Award, Italian Chemical Society
  • 1998 Francis Clifford Phillips Award, U. of Pittsburgh
  • 1997 Centenary Medal, Royal Society of Chemistry
  • 1994 American Chemical Society Award in Inorganic Chemistry
  • 1989-90 Guggenheim Fellow

Significant Professional Service

  • Member, National Academy of Sciences
  • 1993 Elected to U.S. National Academy of Sciences
  • 1993 Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 1989 American Chemical Society Award in Organometallic Chemistry

Selected Publications

  • Forti, Giacomo; Pankow, Robert M.; Qin, Fei; Cho, Yongjoon; Kerwin, Brendan; Duplessis, Isaiah; Nitti, Andrea; Jeong, Seonghun; Yang, Changduk; Facchetti, Antonio; Pasini, Dario; Marks, Tobin J., Anthradithiophene (ADT)-Based Polymerized Non-Fullerene Acceptors for All-Polymer Solar Cells, Chemistry - A European Journal (2023).
  • Liu, Yiqi; Agarwal, Amol; Kratish, Yosi; Marks, Tobin J., Single-Site Carbon-Supported Metal-Oxo Complexes in Heterogeneous Catalysis, Angewandte Chemie - International Edition (2023).
  • Li, Mengyuan; Park, So Yeon; Wang, Jianxin; Zheng, Ding; Wostoupal, Owen S.; Xiao, Xudong; Yang, Zhenzhen; Li, Xun; Diroll, Benjamin T.; Marks, Tobin J.; Zhu, Kai; Xu, Tao, Nickel-Doped Graphite and Fusible Alloy Bilayer Back Electrode for Vacuum-Free Perovskite Solar Cells, ACS Energy Letters (2023).
  • Pankow, Robert M.; Harbuzaru, Alexandra; Zheng, Ding; Kerwin, Brendan; Forti, Giacomo; Duplessis, Isaiah D.; Musolino, Bryan; Ponce Ortiz, Rocio; Facchetti, Antonio; Marks, Tobin J., Oxidative-Reductive Near-Infrared Electrochromic Switching Enabled by Porous Vertically Stacked Multilayer Devices, Journal of the American Chemical Society (2023).
  • Shim, Hyunseok; Sim, Kyoseung; Wang, Binghao; Zhang, Yongcao; Patel, Shubham; Jang, Seonmin; Marks, Tobin J.; Facchetti, Antonio; Yu, Cunjiang, Elastic integrated electronics based on a stretchable n-type elastomer–semiconductor–elastomer stack, Nature Electronics (2023).
  • Su, Ning; Chen, Jianhua; Peng, Mengran; Li, Guoping; Pankow, Robert M.; Zheng, Ding; Ding, Junqiao; Facchetti, Antonio; Marks, Tobin J., π-Extension and chlorination of non-fullerene acceptors enable more readily processable and sustainable high-performance organic solar cells, Journal of Energy Chemistry (2023).
  • Carter, Cole; Kratish, Yosi; Marks, Tobin J., Influence of Rare-Earth Ion Radius on Metal-Metal Charge Transfer in Trinuclear Mixed-Valent Complexes, Inorganic chemistry (2023).
  • Zhu, Weigang; Li, Guoping; Mukherjee, Subhrangsu; Powers-Riggs, Natalia E.; Jones, Leighton O.; Gann, Eliot; Kline, R. Joseph; Herzing, Andrew; Logsdon, Jenna L.; Flagg, Lucas; Stern, Charlotte L.; Young, Ryan M.; Kohlstedt, Kevin L.; Schatz, George C; DeLongchamp, Dean M.; Wasielewski, Michael R.; Melkonyan, Ferdinand; Facchetti, Antonio; Marks, Tobin Jay, Quantitative relationships between film morphology, charge carrier dynamics, and photovoltaic performance in bulk-heterojunction binary vs. ternary acceptor blends, Energy and Environmental Science (2023).