Faculty Directory
Vinayak P. Dravid

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering

Abraham Harris Professor

Director, Northwestern University Atomic and Nanoscale Characterization (NUANCE) Center


2220 Campus Drive
Cook Hall 2036; Office - Cook 1133 (*enter at Cook 1131)
Evanston, IL 60208

Email Vinayak Dravid


The VPD Group


Northwestern University Atomic and Nanoscale Characterization (NUANCE) Center


Materials Science and Engineering


Ph.D. Materials Science and Engineering, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA

B.S. Metallurgical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India

Research Interests

The properties and performance of materials - whether physical or biological or hybrid -  are dictated by complex atomic and nanoscale architecture and associated phenomena. Our research is geared towards not only their understanding but manipulation and tailring to yield favorable response and behavior. Such materials include nanostructures, especially inorganic/organic hybrids, and phenomena oftenr revolve around various defects and their dynamic behavior. Thus, the core theme in Dravid group is the paradigm for "Form-Function" and "Structure-Property" relationship in diverse materials.

On one front, we are investigating the patterning and characterization of complex multicomponent nanostructured materials such as metal/alloy nanocrystals, biomolecular nanopatterns (DNA/proteins), interfaces between inorganic nanostructures and biomolecules, etc. These structures possess unique and novel morphologies and chemistry, and their electronic structure alsdepends on size and shape. We are exploring applications of such structures, including drug delivery, bio-diagnostics and bio-chem sensing.

We are also involved in atomic-scale structure-property relationship for internal interfaces, domains and mosaics. In a large number of material systems, such as electroceramics, semiconductors, superlattices, and structural composites, the property and performance of the bulk material are intimately connected to the structure, chemistry, and electronic structure of interfaces.

The philosophy of our approach is based on sound fundamental foundation of complex phenomena, liberal use of advanced instrumentation and techniques and quest for proof-of-concepts for devices as well.

Significant Recognition

  • Lee Hsun Research Fellowship: Chinese Academy of Sciences (2012)
  • IIT Bombay Distinguished Alumnus Award (2012)
  • Materials Research Society of India (MRSI) Honorary Member (2011)
  • American Assoc. for Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow (2010)
  • Materials Research Society (MRS) Fellow
  • Election to Faculty Honor Roll: NU Associated Student Government (2008-2010)
  • Microscopy Society of America (MSA) Fellowship (2009)
  • Richard M. Fulrath Award (2008)
  • 6th McBain Memorial Award, NCL, India (2007)
  • First McCormick Faculty Excellence Award (2006)
  • American Ceramic Society Fellow (2003)
  • Teacher of the Year (2001-2)
  • NIH Sabbatical Faculty Fellow (2001-2)
  • ASM-IIM Visiting Faculty Fellow (2001)
  • Distinguished Alumni Service Award, IIT Bombay, India (2001)
  • Kurt Heinrich Award, Microbeam Analysis Society, 1998
  • R. L. Coble Award for Young Scholars, American Ceramic Society (ACerS), 1998
  • Burton Medal, Microscopy Society of America (MSA), 1996
  • IBM Faculty Development Award, 1995
  • Exxon Foundation Fellowship, 1995
  • NSF Young Investigator Award, 1993–98

Significant Professional Service

  • Corporate & International Outreach/Entrepreneurial Activities Committee: Chemistry of Life Processes Institute (CLP) NU
  • Co-Organizer: Conference on Advanced Materials (ICAM), Brazil
  • Co-Founder, Board Member and Chair Scientific Advisory Committe: NanoSonix, Inc.
  • International Advisory Committee: Global Indian Scientists and Technocrats Convention (GIST)
  • Board of Directors: Joint Research Center between Nile University, Egypt and Northwestern
  • Board Member: NanoInk Scientific Advisory Board
  • Founding member: Faculty Academic Network (FAN)
  • Board of Directors: IIT Bombay Heritage Fund (US alumni association for IITB)
  • Founding member: International Institute for Nanotechnology (IIN)
  • Professional memberships: ACerS, MRS, MSA, MAS, APS, ACS, AAAS, IEEE, ASME, ASEE, ASM/TMS
  • Reviewer/Editor of special issues: APL, PRL, JACerS, Nature, Science, Acta Mater., JMR, JECS, Nano Letters
  • Reviewer/panelist for: NSF, DOE and DOD
  • Editor, Journal of Materials Research, MRS Flagship journal
  • Editor, Microscopy & Microanalysis, MSA Flagship Journal
  • Editorial board, Journal of Microscopy, Journal of Materials Research
  • Editorial Board, Current Opinion in Solid State and Materials Science

Selected Publications

  • Serkan Butun, Edgar Palacios, Jeffrey D. Cain, Zizhuo Liu, Vinayak P. Dravid, Koray Aydin, “Quantifying Plasmon-Enhanced Light Absorption in Monolayer WS2 Films”, ACS applied materials & interfaces, (2017)
  • Xing Liao, Yi Kai Huang, Chad A. Mirkin, Vinayak P. Dravid, “High Throughput Synthesis of Multifunctional Oxide Nanostructures within Nanoreactors Defined by Beam Pen Lithography”, ACS Nano, (2017)
  • Gajendra S. Shekhawat, Arvind K. Srivastava, Vinayak P. Dravid, Oluwaseyi Balogun, “Thickness Resonance Acoustic Microscopy for Nanomechanical Subsurface Imaging”, ACS Nano, (2017)
  • Eve D. Hanson, Luc Lajaunie, Shiqiang Hao, Benjamin D. Myers, Fengyuan Shi, Akshay A. Murthy, Chris Wolverton, Raul Arenal, Vinayak P. Dravid, “Systematic Study of Oxygen Vacancy Tunable Transport Properties of Few-Layer MoO3-x Enabled by Vapor-Based Synthesis”, Advanced Functional Materials, (2017)
  • Jingshan S. Du, Peng Cheng Chen, Brian Meckes, Zhuang Xie, Jinghan Zhu, Yuan Liu, Vinayak P. Dravid, Chad A. Mirkin, “The Structural Fate of Individual Multicomponent Metal-Oxide Nanoparticles in Polymer Nanoreactors”, Angewandte Chemie - International Edition, (2017)
  • Vikas Nandwana, Soo Ryoon Ryoo, Shanthi Kanthala, Kaylin M. McMahon, Jonathan S. Rink, Yue Li, Subbu S. Venkatraman, C. Shad Thaxton, Vinayak P. Dravid, “High-Density Lipoprotein-like Magnetic Nanostructures (HDL-MNS)”, Chemistry of Materials, (2017)
  • Mahyar M. Moghadam, Ran Li, D. Bruce Buchholz, Qianqian Li, Peter W. Voorhees, Vinayak P. Dravid, “In Situ Crystallization and Morphological Evolution in Multicomponent Indium Oxide Thin Films”, Crystal Growth and Design, (2017)
  • Luong T.H. Nguyen, Aristo Muktabar, Jinkai Tang, Vinayak P. Dravid, C. Shad Thaxton, Subbu Venkatraman, Kee Woei Ng, “Engineered nanoparticles for the detection, treatment and prevention of atherosclerosis”, Drug Discovery Today, (2017)