The following is a list of events for the 2018 Northwestern University/Tel Aviv University Workshop. Please note that all workshop presentations will take place in the Guild Lounge, located within Scott Hall, on Northwestern's Evanston campus.

Jump to a Section

Monday, July 16, 2018

Opening Session: 8:30 - 9:00 a.m.

Session Chair: Prof. David N. Seidman (MSE, Northwestern University, Director of NUCAPT)

  • 9:00 - 9:40 a.m.: Prof. Mark A. Ratner (Chemistry and MSE, Northwestern University) - Molecular Electronics from a time-dependent perspective
  • 9:40 - 10:10 a.m.: Prof. Yossi Rosenwaks (Dean of Engineering, EE and MSE, TAU) Selective molecular sensing using CMOS compatible nanowire transistor
  • 10:10 - 10:40 a.m.: Prof. Selim M. Shahriar (EECS, Northwestern University) Schroedinger cat atomic interferometry at decillion Hz Compton frequency: ultraprecise gyroscopes, accelerometers, and clocks

Coffee Break: 10:40 - 11:00 A.M.

Session Chair: Prof. Noam Eliaz (MSE, TAU)

  • 11:00 - 11:30 a.m.: Prof. Erik Luijten (Chair, MSE, Northwestern University) Predictive modeling of dielectric effects in materials
  • 11:30 - 12:00 p.m.: Dr. Dvir Gur (NICHD, NIH, Bethesda, MD and Janelia Research CA.M.pus, VA, TAU) Light-induced tunable structural colors in fish and copepods
  • 12:00 - 12:30 p.m.: Prof. Derk Joester (MSE, Northwestern University) Nucleation and growth of crystalline carbonates from amorphous precursors
  • 12:30 – 1:00 p.m.: Prof. Shachar Richter (MSE, TAU) From (bio) organic materials to electronic and photonic devices

LUNCH BREAK: 1:00 - 2:00 p.m.

Lunch Break and Research Discussion

Session Chair: Prof. Jacob (Koby) Scheuer (EE, TAU) Welcome address

  • 2:00 - 2:10 p.m.: Prof. Jay Walsh – Vice President for Research, Northwestern University - Welcome address
  • 2:10 - 2:40 p.m.: Dr. Semën Gorfman (MSE, TAU) Using time-resolved X-ray diffraction to reveal the mechanisms of piezoelectricity in ferroelectrics
  • 2:40 - 3:10 p.m.: Prof. Mercouri G. Kanatzidis (Chemistry, Northwestern University) Amazing 3D and 2D halide perovskites: all the things they do
  • 3:10 - 3:40 p.m.: Prof. Jacob (Koby) Scheuer (EE, TAU) Towards metal-halide based perovskite integrated photonics
  • 3:40 - 4:10 p.m.: Prof. James M. Rondinelli (MSE, Northwestern University) Polar oxide thin films from vacancy and chemical order

COFFEE BREAK: 4:10-4:25 p.m.

Session Chair: Prof. Ilan Goldfarb (Chair, MSE, TAU)

  • 4:25 - 4:55 p.m.: Dr. Oswaldo Diéguez (MSE, TAU) Polymorphism in Bi-based perovskite oxides: a first-principles study
  • 4:55 - 5:25 p.m.: Prof. Christopher Wolverton (MSE, Northwestern University) Using machine-learning to create predictive material property models and accelerate combinatorial searches

BREAK: 5:25 - 6:15 p.m.

Shuttle departs the Hilton Orrington Hotel for Banquet: 6:15 p.m.

Return to Top

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

OPENING SESSION: 8:30 - 8:40 A.M.

Session Chair: Dr. Noa Lachman (MSE, TAU)

  • 8:40 - 9:10 a.m.: Prof. David C. Dunand (MSE, Northwestern University) Metallic scaffolds by reduction of 3D-printed oxide inks
  • 9:10 - 9:40 a.m.: Prof. Noam Eliaz (MSE, TAU) Directed energy deposition (DED) and the new Tel-Aviv University 3D printing Research and Development Center
  • 9:40 - 10:10 a.m.: Prof. Kenneth R. Shull (MSE, Northwestern University) Polyelectrolyte complex membranes for water purification
  • 10:10 - 10:40 a.m.: Prof. Laurence D. Marks (MSE, Northwestern University) Understanding corrosion in 4D at the nanoscale

COFFEE BREAK: 10:40 - 10:55 A.M.

Session Chair: Prof. Shachar Richter (MSE, TAU)

  • 10:55 - 11:25 a.m.: Prof. Amit Kohn (MSE, TAU) Mean-inner and space charge potentials in oxides
  • 11:25 - 11:55 a.m.: Prof. Vinayak P. Dravid (MSE and Director of NUANCE Center, Northwestern University) Static and dynamics electron microscopy of nanostructured materials
  • 11:55 A.M. - 12:25 p.m.: Dr. Noa Lachman (MSE, TAU) Multi-functional composites: a study in silicone

LUNCH BREAK: 12:25 - 1:40 P.M.

Lunch Break and Research Discussion at The James L. Allen Center

  • Allen Center: James L Allen Center, 2169 CA.M.pus Drive, Evanston, IL 60208. View on the map

Session Chair: Prof. Amit Kohn (MSE, TAU)

  • 1:40 - 2:10 p.m.: Prof. Scott A. Barnett (MSE, Northwestern University) High-efficiency electrical energy storage using reversible solid oxide cells
  • 2:10 - 2:40 p.m.: Prof. Sossina M. Haile (MSE, Northwestern University) Insights into oxygen electrochemical reaction mechanisms on (La,Sr)MnO3
  • 2:40 - 3:10 p.m.: Prof. Yip-Wah Chung (MSE, Northwestern University) Design and development of high-temperature 9% Cr steels for power plant applications

COFFEE BREAK: 3:10-3:30 P.M.

Session Chair: Dr. Bruce Wessels (MSE, Northwestern University)

  • 3:30– 4:00 p.m.: Prof. Ilan Goldfarb (MSE, TAU) Nanomagnetic size effects in non-magnetic materials
  • 4:00 - 4:30 p.m.: Prof. Alan V. Sahakian (Chair, EECS, Northwestern University) Spintronic and magneto-resistive logic for beyond-CMOS computing
  • 4:30 – 5:00 p.m.: Prof. G. Jeffrey Snyder (MSE, Northwestern University) Understanding and engineering electrical interfaces and grain boundaries in oxides and thermoelectric materials

BREAK: 5:00-6:15 P.M.

Dinner at Cohen Commons Faculty and Staff Dining Room: 6:15 p.m.

  • Cohen Commons: Room L482, 4th floor North-West corner of the Technological Institute building, 2145 Sheridan Rd.

Return to Top

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Session Chair: Dr. Mark Hersam (MSE, Director, NUMRC, Northwestern University)

  • 9:00 - 9:30 a.m.: Prof. Koray Aydin (EECS, Northwestern University) Nanophotonics in the flatland: engineering novel photonic platforms from 2D materials to metadevices and metamaterials
  • 9:30 - 10:00 a.m.: Prof. David N. Seidman (MSE, Northwestern University) A tale of two silicon nanowires: correlative studies
  • 10:00 - 10:30 a.m.: Dr. Ariel Ismach (MSE, TAU) Synthesis and characterization of 2D materials and heterostructures
  • 10:30 - 11:00 a.m.: Prof. Mark C. Hersam (MSE and Director, NUMRC, Northwestern University) Interfacial engineering of two-dimensional nanoelectronic heterostructures
  • 11:00 – 11:30 a.m.: Prof. Hooman Mohseni (EECS, Northwestern University) Energy efficient optoelectronics for science, medical, and consumer applications

COFFEE BREAK: 11:30 - 1:00 p.M.

Personal communication and concluding remarks

Departure to the Advanced Photon Source (APS) at Argonne National Laboratory (ANL): 1:15 p.m.

Conference attendees are invited to participate in a tour of the Advanced Proton Source (APS) at Argonne National Laboratory (ANL) on Wednesday, July 18.  A shuttle bus will pick up tour participants from the Guild Lounge at approximately 1:15 p.m. The bus trip will take approximately 1 hour. A box lunch will be provided. Please note, the shuttle bus will stop at O’Hare airport on its way back to Northwestern University to accommodate TAU visitors who have an evening flight.