Students Receive Scholarships in Steel Construction

Kathryn EckhoffBS/MS Student, Kathryn Eckhoff, was selected to receive two scholarships, totaling $5000, from the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC).  The first scholarship was awarded by the AISC Education Foundation and the second was from the Associated Steel Erectors of Chicago.  The judging panel included Ben Baer, Baer Associates Engineers; David Bibbs, Cannon Design; Christopher Brown, Skidmore Owings & Merrill; Christina Harber, AISC; Luke Johnson, American Structurepoint; and Colleen Malone, HW Lochner.  Kathryn is a member of the ASCE Northwestern Student Group, the Vice President of the Chapter and the Captain of the Concrete Canoe Team. 

Sara IbarraAlumni, Sara Ibarra, who is currently attending the University of Washington for a Master of Science, received the AISC Education Foundation Scholarship in the amount of $2,500.  Sara is a world traveler and enjoys adventure!  While attending Northwestern she was critical member of our Steel Bridge Team.  She took it upon herself to learn the art of welding and then shared her new skill with others.  Sara graduated in 2015 and received numerous scholarships while attending Northwestern including the Wallis S. Hamilton Award for Civil Engineering Senior.  This award recognizes the senior who best exemplifies the standards of Professor Hamilton: teacher, researcher, and professional engineer.