Sinan Keten Receives 2024 ASME Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award

Sinan Keten

Professor Sinan Keten has received the 2024 ASME Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award. This award is presented for outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering, within ten to twenty years following graduation with a baccalaureate (bachelor’s) degree in Mechanical Engineering or related field.

The award, established in 1974, honors Gustus L. Larson, ASME Fellow and founder of Pi Tau Sigma at the University of Wisconsin. He was a recognized leader in heating, ventilating, and air conditioning and was a former president of the ASHVE. 

“It is a great honor for me to receive the ASME Gustus L. Larson Award,” Keten said. “It has been 20 years since I graduated with my B.S. Degree from Bogazici University in Turkey. Time flies and reflecting on all that happened over this period is interesting. There were many important research milestones and accomplishments. Still, for me, my most impactful contribution has been mentoring wonderful students and postdocs in my group and helping them achieve their goals. I feel fortunate to work with outstanding individuals and have had incredible mentors. The support of my wonderful colleagues at Northwestern has been invaluable.” 

The award consists of a $1,000 honorarium, a certificate, and a travel supplement. Details of the award presentation will be forthcoming.  

McCormick News Article