Kathryn Eckhoff Receives Prestigious Thornton Tomasetti Foundation Scholarship

Kathryn Eckhoff, BSCE 2017 has a splendid year.  She has garnered four national and university scholarships and awards since April 2017.  Kathryn was awarded the Thornton Tomasetti Foundation National 2017- 2018 Scholarship, Alumnae of Northwestern University Graduate Fellowship, AISC Foundation/Associated Steel Erectors Fellowship, and the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering Edwin C. Rossow Prize for Structural Engineering Senior. 

Kathryn is one of the three students each receiving the $10,000 scholarship from the Thornton Tomasetti Foundation to pursue graduate studies in building engineering, design or technology.  The competition was open to universities across the country.  Each department is only allowed to nominate one student to compete for the award.

The Alumnae of Northwestern University Graduate Fellowship is a $20,000 award to be applied for tuition for the academic year 2017-18.  Kathryn was selected for her excellence in the classroom, passion for her field and service to the community.  For the second year in a row, Kathryn was awarded the America Institute of Steel Construction/Associated Steel Erectors Fellowship.  The $5,000 scholarship will be applied for her graduate study.  Finally, Kathryn was recognized with the Department’s Edwin C. Rossow Prize for Structural Engineering Senior during the June Graduation Reception.  The Rossow Prize was established by his former students to honor Professor Rossow’s contributions to the civil engineering profession and dedication to his students.  The Prize is given to a civil engineering student who, by activities and achievements, demonstrates great potential to contribute and to succeed as a professional in the field of structural engineering.

McCormick News Article