Professor Harold Kung awarded for creative research in Catalysis

September 4, 2010

Professor Harold Kung has been selected as the recipient of the 2011 Gabor A. Somorjai Award for
Creative Research in Catalysis of the American Chemical Society. The award will be presented at the Spring Meeting of the ACS in 2011. This award recognizes outstanding theoretical, experimental, or developmental research resulting in the advancement of understanding or application of catalysis, and the list of winners includes the greatest researchers in the field of catalysis.

Previous winners include:

  • Robert J. Madix (2010)
  • Jens K. Nørskov (2009)
  • Avelino Corma Canos (2008)
  • Hans-Joachim Freund (2007)
  • James A. Dumesic (2006)
  • D. Wayne Goodman (2005)
  • Bruce C. Gates (2004)
  • Robert H. Grubbs (2003)
  • Jack H. Lunsford (2002)
  • Alexis T. Bell (2001)
  • Gabor A. Somorjai (2000)
  • Sir John Meurig Thomas (1999)