Two IEMS Undergraduates Receive Big Ten Scholar Award

Ashley Greenwell and Arthur Omillian, two IEMS students were among 48 Northwestern student-athletes from 14 different Wildcats programs to earn Big Ten Distinguished Scholar awards. The award, in its fifth year of existence, was established by the Big Ten Faculty Representatives to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institutions. However, the new award encompasses only student-athletes with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school.

The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for their academic career; in 2012-13, Northwestern earned 203 total Academic All-Big Ten honors to put it over the 200 number for the third-consecutive year. View all forty-eight award recipients.

McCormick News Article