See all NewsEngineering News
Honors and Awards

Two McCormick Professors Named AAAS Fellows

Professors recognized by international science society

Horacio EspinosaTwo Northwestern University faculty members have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society.

The two professors are being honored for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New fellows will be honored Feb. 15 at the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

The faculty members, both from the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science, are:

Horacio Espinosa, the James N. and Nancy J. Farley Professor in Manufacturing and Entrepreneurship, director of the Theoretical and Applied Mechanics Program and director of NUFAB, an advanced micro/nano fabrication research facility. Espinosa was chosen for his distinguished contributions to the field of mechanics of materials, particularly for the development of novel in-situ microscopy experiments and their interpretation with atomistic modeling. 

David SeidmanDavid N. Seidman, the Walter P. Murphy Professor of Materials Science and Engineering and founding director of the Northwestern University Center for Atom-Probe Tomography (NUCAPT). Seidman was honored for his distinguished pioneering and seminal applications of field-ion microscopy and atom-probe tomography to fundamental scientific and technological problems in materials science and engineering. 

AAAS is an international nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world. It publishes the journal Science, as well as newsletters, books and reports. In 2013, AAAS elected 388 of its members as fellows.