See all NewsEngineering News
Honors and Awards

Katherine Faber Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Five Northwestern faculty members elected to one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies

McCormick professor Katherine T. Faber and four other Northwestern University faculty have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies.

They are among the 204 leaders in the sciences, social sciences, the humanities, the arts, business and public affairs who have been elected to the academy this year for their pathbreaking work. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony Oct. 11 at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

Katherine FaberFaber, Walter P. Murphy Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, conducts research on porous ceramics for energy applications; graphite- and silicon carbide-based cellular ceramics synthesized from natural scaffolds, such as pyrolized wood; and thermal and environmental barrier coatings for engines and gas turbines. 

Recently, Faber extended her research to include cultural heritage science. She co-founded and co-directs the Northwestern University-Art Institute of Chicago Center for Scientific Studies in the Arts (NU-ACCESS), a new model for interdisciplinary studies that offers scientific research collaborations to museums across the country.

Faber joined the American Ceramic Society in 1975, was made fellow in 1992, served as president from 2006 to 2007 and was named a distinguished life member in 2013. Other honors include two National Science Foundation Creativity Extension Awards and a Distinguished Educator Award from the Society of Women Engineers.

The other new Northwestern members are:

  • Timothy Earle, professor emeritus of anthropology, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences
  • Edward W. Muir, Jr., Clarence L. Ver Steeg Professor in the Arts and Sciences, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences
  • Amy C. Rosenzweig, Weinberg Family Distinguished Professor of Life Sciences; professor of molecular biosciences; professor of chemistry; Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences
  • Richard B. Silverman, John Evans Professor of Chemistry, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences