Graduate Study
Materials Science Engineering (PhD)
Weertman Fellowship

The Johannes and Julia Randall Weertman Graduate Fellowship, established in 2014, is an achievement-based award to recognize a Ph.D. candidate in materials science and engineering for her or his outstanding scholarly achievements and promise. The Fellowship was established in honor of the tremendous contributions of Hans and Julia Weertman to the discipline of Materials Science and Engineering and to our department.


2018: Riley Hanus

2017: Ha-Kyung Kwon

2016: Lanhe Zhang

2015: Logan Ward

2014: Deep Jariwala

2018 Weertman Symposium