Mark Hersam

Mark Hersam

Mark Hersam honored in White House ceremony

Mark Hersam, professor of materials science and engineering, was honored at the White House on July 26 as a recipient of the 2005 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE).

The award, established in 1996, is the highest honor given by the U.S. government to outstanding scientists and engineers who are beginning their independent careers.

Eight federal departments and agencies join together annually to nominate young scientists and engineers whose work is of greatest benefit to the nominating agency's mission. Nominated by the U.S. Army Research Office, Hersam will receive $500,000 over five years.

Hersam was cited for outstanding research in applied science; silicon-based molecular electronics; nanoscale optoelectronics and atomic-resolution processing; and characterization of electronic, organic, and biological materials and molecules using scanning probe microscopy. He also was honored for outstanding teaching and outreach in the fields of nanoscale science and engineering, including curriculum development, mentoring of undergraduate research, and development of the Global Nanotechnology Network, which disseminates nanotechnology educational materials via the Internet.

Hersam's research focuses on developing scanning probe microscopy techniques that enable sensing, characterization, and actuation at the single-molecule level. It impacts many fields, including materials science, chemistry, biology, physics, and electrical engineering.

Hersam, who joined Northwestern in 2000, has received many awards during his career. Recent awards include the American Vacuum Society Peter Mark Memorial Award (2006), the Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society's Robert Lansing Hardy Award (2006), the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award (2005), the Army Research Office Young Investigator Award (2005), a Sloan Foundation Fellowship (2005), the National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2002), and the Beckman Young Investigator Award (2001).

Megan Fellman