Graduation 2022

The 2022 graduates of Northwestern University were recognized in a variety of events, culminating in the 164th Commencement ceremony on Monday, June 13th, at which Isabel Wilkerson, an acclaimed author, Pulitzer Prize winner, and National Humanities Medal recipient, spoke.  The McCormick School of Engineering graduate and undergraduate students were honored in two separate convocation ceremonies on Sunday, June 12th.  Families, students, and faculty we happy to celebrate in person this year, and CEE were very pleased to congratulate 11 Ph.D., 31 MS, and 23 BS (15 BSCE and 8 BSEnvE) graduates. 

We are extremely proud of the Class of 2022 who spent a good deal of their undergraduate years in remote classes and behind masks, yet persevered to make many notable achievements.  The CEE faculty would like to acknowledge a few of these students who excelled in their Civil & Environmental Engineering studies with the following awards:

The Civil Engineering Senior Award, which recognizes outstanding civil engineering graduating seniors, was awarded to Eleanor Fulkerson and Jessica Lee

Eleanor Fulkerson Jessica Lee

The Environmental Engineering Senior Award, which is awarded to outstanding environmental engineering graduating seniors, was awarded to Sherlyn Weng.

Sherlyn Weng

The Edwin C. Rossow Prize for Structural Engineering was established by his former students to honor Professor Rossow’s contributions to the civil engineering profession and dedication to his students and is given to civil engineering students who, by activities and achievements, demonstrate great potential to contribute and to succeed as a professional in the field of Structural Engineering. The 2022 recipients were Barbara Garcia and Luiz Antonio de Siqueira Neto.

Barbara Garcia Luiz Antonio de Siqueira Neto

The Jimmie Quon Memorial Award for Environmental Engineering was established by his former students to honor Professor Quon and his contributions to the academic and other professional fields encompassing Environmental Engineering and is given to environmental engineering seniors who have the highest potential to make significant contributions to the advancement of Environmental Engineering and positive impact to society. This year it was awarded to Allison Spring

Allison Spring

The Wallis S. Hamilton Award for Civil and Environmental Engineering recognizes the seniors who best exemplify the standards of Professor Hamilton: teacher, researcher, and professional engineer. This award was presented to Emma Novak (CE), Nick Villareal(CE), Roman Gavrilla(EnvE), and Conor McGarvey(EnvE).

Emma Novak Nick VillarealRoman Gavrilla Conor McGarvey

The Capstone Award was established by the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering to recognize outstanding performance in senior Capstone Design, particularly to a student pursuing innovative design solutions and exceeding expectations in a way that elevates the work of others throughout the class. This inaugural award was presented to Cameron Manning.

Cameron Manning